How to Make Enemies in 24 Hours

Here at Oxford, the majority of people are friendly, helpful, and more than willing to compliment my “adorable” Californian accent.  But it appears that if I reveal one teensy, minute thing about myself, I will elicit a quick glare and a “no fair!” faster than you can say tea.

“And what may this thing be?” you ask. Well many of you will not be surprised to learn it, but I certainly am. I mean, after all, it isn’t like I expected something of this nature to occur on my very first week of classes and how on earth was I supposed to control it? But the fact of the matter is, when in Oxford, on a Monday or Tuesday, do not reveal that you have already finished your weekly essay that isn’t due until Friday.

Now to be fair, I haven’t actually tested this theory of whether or not people won’t like me because I finished a 6 page essay in a matter of 4 hours, but I am certainly not going to try it either. I’m not going to complain about how I suddenly have a lot of free time facing me and no clue how to fill it other than being crazy and making an insanely detailed budget and rereading everything and lamenting that my friends aren’t faster workers. I may not have the best social skills, but I’m pretty sure that that won’t make me any friends.

I guess I’ll just have to clean my room, make a budget, and work on my essay for next week! And make some tea. I finally have a kettle so I can beat this flu with copious amounts of warm beverages.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

