HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM!

Mom, before you read this, grab some tissues just in case. Everyone else, I apologize for the sappiness.

So obviously, today is my mom’s birthday. Because I’m in England I won’t get to spend it with her for the first time, and by the time any card I’d send her would get to California, I’d already be home. But that won’t stop me from thinking about her all day.

I really do have the most amazing mother in the entire world. She is the most important person in my life, and for good reason. She has been there for me through everything in my life, happy or sad, good or awful, calm or dramatic. And she never stopped showing me that I was loved and safe. I don’t think that most people really appreciate how important that can be. But sometimes, just the knowledge that one person out there loves you unconditionally can be enough to get you through hard times. And I had that knowledge every day of my life.

Now, a lot of people say that their parents are the best, willing to do anything for them. But no one compares to my mom. I’m in awe of how generous she is, how she is the first person to help someone out, how she does not judge people for anything, how she holds our family together, how she loves my dad and with him has given my brother and me a warm and stable home, the list goes on and on. And she really has done more for me than anyone can possibly imagine or understand. I don’t know what I would do without her.

Mom, I love you so unbelievably much, and I wish I could be there today on your birthday, but know that I am thinking about you and miss you and am so incredibly thankful to have you in my life.

Leave a Reply

