Cupcake Update

Because I was completely lazy last week and never got around to blogging, a tragedy occurred. Yes, readers, I apologize, but you missed our second cupcake endeavor. Fortunately there has now been a third so I can remedy the situation with a double cupcake experiment extravaganza!

I now understand what parents feel like if they were ever instructed to pick a favorite child, because picking my favorite cupcake that we’ve made thus far feels utterly impossible. How do you choose between three items that are so unbelievably different? Answer, you don’t, you become an equal opportunist cupcake baker.

We are getting good at working with what we have

Last week Janosz and I made these peanut butter cupcakes with peanut butter frosting and chocolate ganache. I think they should be called Americans in England cupcakes because everyone here seems to–rightly–think that Americans are obsessed with peanut butter. Of course one look at my food shelves just proves them correct (current total of PB jars: 4). This was another recipe that neither of us have tried before, so all bets were off as to how they would come out. We needn’t have worried though, after just making the cupcake batter and not even starting the frosting, Janosz and I were like kids in a peanut butter store. The batter was INCREDIBLE. We kind of wanted to just forgo the cupcakes and eat the batter instead. But we didn’t in order to preserve our poor stomachs. We did however spend a considerable amount of time brainstorming other ways to use the batter: on a sandwich, on french toast, in a sweet potato, on a spoon, on Janosz’s finger, over ice cream, the possibilities were deliciously endless. We had to keep reminding ourselves that cupcake batter is not lunch!

Peanut Butter Cupcakes w/ Peanut Butter Frosting and Chocolate Ganache

Think of a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup, but a million times better. And with dark chocolate. They were unbelievably rich but oh so delicious. So I take back my earlier statement, these are definitely my favorite cupcakes thus far. I’ll be making them again and again and again!

Jordan is our first taste tester

This weekend Janosz really wanted to make a throwback cupcake to his favorite chocolate cake that he makes at home. Jordan joined us this time, but it really ended up being Janosz’s show and Jordan and I just hopped in to stir or pour when Janosz directed us to do so.

Jordan gets to see how we improvise our baking

It ended up a little bit like The Little Red Hen (that children’s story where the hen’s friends don’t help her make the bread and therefore don’t get to taste it) except not really at all like that since Jordan and I were rewarded for our meager amount of help with lots of left over cake batter 🙂

Yummy batter 🙂

Double Chocolate Cupcakes with a Caramel Frosting…and the verdict…first chocolate cake I’ve ever liked. I am really not a chocolate cupcake person at all and I loved these. Not quite as much as the peanut butter ones, but these were still great. And Dan (the dance partner) will happily be getting another cupcake delivery in his newly purchased cupcake container.

Of course it is really spending time with my friends rather than the baking that takes the cake. Pun entirely intended ❤

Leave a Reply

